ECSA Commodore’s Trophy

The ECSA Commodore’s Trophy was established in 2006 to recognize outstanding contributions to Sailing in our are by an ECSA member. The Deed for this trophy is:

The ECSA Commodore’s Trophy is to be awarded from time to time at the discretion of the ECSA Commodore with the approval of the ECSA Officers and Board of Directors to any ECSA member (club or individual) that has made a significant contribution to the Eastern Connection Sailing Association community. The Trophy is not awarded for excellence in sailing competition. It is expected that this award will not be presented annually; rather it is to be awarded only when there is a deserving recipient.

The perpetual trophy shall be displayed at the recipient’s home or home club until it shall be required for presentation to the next winner. A suitable keeper will be provided to be the permanent possession of each winner.

2018 – Brandon Flack for his significant contributions to our sailing community.


In 2006 it was awarded to Niantic Bay Yacht Club for hosting a successful 375 boat Opti New England
In 2009 to Steve Purdy for his exceptional contributions to race management.
In 2010 to Lincoln Schoenberger for his service to the PHRF Handicapping Council.
In 2012 to Bob Cashman for his contributions to the ECSA board and handicap council.
In 2013 to Bruce Kuryla for his exceptional service to the ECSA board, handicap council and winning
performance in national competition.
In 2016 to Paul Risseeuw for his unprecedented support of Junior Sailing and service to ECSA as
Junior Chair for 24 years as well as Commodore